Member News and Views

Baltimore City Medical Society members represent diverse specialties in varied practice settings. They all demonstrate a commitment to organized medicine and active engagement in public health, legislative advocacy, practice concerns, and preparing future generations of physicians.

February 2023

Dr. Tyler Cymet Featured on D.O. Or Do Not Podcast

Listen to Tyler Cymet, D.O., share on the topic, “Advancing Osteopathic Medicine.” 

Podcast | Do Or Do Not (

January 2023

Dr. Shruti Aggarwal: Opens New Practice

November 2022

Dr. Ben Lowentritt to Become MedChi President

During MedChi’s Fall House of Delegates, BCMS Past President, Dr. Lowentritt was elected President-Elect.  He will serve as MedChi President for 2023-2024.  Dr. Lowentritt also serves as Speaker of the House.

November 2021

Dr. Richard A. Bruno ~ Volunteer Leadership in the Community During COVID Leads to Recognition

Dr. Bruno received the MedChi President’s Award for his leadership in developing three community-based programs to assist Baltimore City communities during the pandemic: Self-Quarantine Support Network, Psychological First Aid Initiative, and Baltimore Health Professional Mutual Aid Cooperative.

February 2021

Dr. Lee A. Snyder ~ American Academy of Ophthalmology Appointment

Dr. Snyder was appointed chair of the Surgical Scope Fund Committee. She will lead efforts to assure quality care and preserve sight for patients nationwide.

August 2020

Dr. Anuradha D. Reddy ~ Leadership Award

Dr. Reddy is recipient of the Washington Academy of Science’s 2020 Leadership in Healthcare Award for her ongoing commitment and dedication to improving the health of underprivileged patients in Baltimore City.

March 2020

Dr. Tyler C. Cymet – Creating a Field Hospital for COVID Patients

Responding to the need for additional beds to care for patients with COVID-19, the State of Maryland developed a field hospital at the downtown Baltimore Convention Center. Dr. Cymet was appointed Medical Director, and shared its development with BCMS members during an continuing medical education activity.

February 2020

Dr. Yngvild K. G. Olsen~ Advocates for Urgent Treatment for Opioid-Use Disorder

Dr. Olsen discussed the devastating impact prior authorization has on medication-assisted treatment given to patients experiencing opioid-use disorder before the American Medical Association’s Opioid Task Force. In 2017 a new law was enacted in Maryland that prohibits pre-authorization for medications used to treat opioid-use disorder.

November 2019

Dr. Michele A. Manahan: Elected President, MedChi, The Maryland State Medical Society

Michele A. Manahan, MD, MBA, FACS is an Associate Professor of Plastic Surgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital where she performs aesthetic and reconstructive plastic surgery. She received summa cum laude honors from Harvard College, graduating as a member of the Phi Beta Kappa honors society. She attended Johns Hopkins Medical School, graduating as a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha medical honors society. Dr. Manahan completed her combined residency in plastic surgery through the Johns Hopkins/University of Maryland program. Her interests lie in the realms of patient safety, health care quality measurement, personalization of medicine, the patient experience, and physician well-being.

May 2019

BCMS Foundation’s Physician Community Service Award

Dr. Jos W. Zebley, President, BCMS Foundation, presented, Lenny Feldman, M.D., President, Behavioral Health Leadership Institute the Foundation’s Physician Community Service Award. The Institute was established in 2003 to improve delivery of behavioral health services to vulnerable, under-served, and high-risk populations by bridging the gap between needs, responsive service delivery, workforce development, and research.

January 2019

Dr. Hiroshi Nakazawa – Recipient of Inaugural Baltimore City Community Service Award in 1988; publishes autobiography

“Memories of a Japanese Doctor in Baltimore: Sixty Years in my Adopted Home”

Dr. Reed A. Winston – Service Physician in Maryland General Assembly First Aid Room

Congratulations were given to Dr. Winston on his 20+ years of service on opening day of Maryland General Assembly. He has volunteered as “physician of the day” in the State Legislative Complex’s first aid room in Annapolis, Maryland.


Dr. Ben H. Lowentritt – Receives MedChi Award

Recipient of MedChi’s President Award for 2018, Dr. Lowentritt was recognized for his outstanding service on the MedChi Board of Trustees, serving as Specialty Society Trustee for two three-year terms. He continues his service as co-chair of MedChi’s Legislative Council.


Dr. Padmini D. Ranasinghe – Physician Health and Wellness

Since 2009, Dr. Ranasinghe, Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, has been the principal investigator of a longitudinal survey of medical student health and wellness at Hopkins. Recently, she organized a half-day continuing medical education actibvity, “Practicing a Wellness Lifestyle: Managing Psychological Challenges During the Physician Lifecycle,” attended by physicians, residents, and medical students.


Dr. Willarda V. Edwards – Elected to AMA Board of Trustees

Elected to the American Medical Association Board of Trustees, Dr. Edwards continues her nearly two decades of service at the national level of organized medicine.  Dr. Edwards donated her first year honorarium to the Center for a Healthy Maryland to establish the Willarda V. Edwards, M.D. Fund for AMA Scholarships to support a resident or student attending an AMA meeting.

Baltimore City Medical Society

© Baltimore City Medical Socieity All rights reserved.
Back to Top